A People’s Petition for calling for the Implementation of Gazette Notification on Forming Five new Divisional Secretariats in Nuwara -Eliya District.

Submission by: Malayagam Political Arena - MPA

Divisional Secretariats, which are above Grama Niladhari Divisions, form an important part in the administrative structure of Sri Lanka. Numbers of such administrative divisions in the Nuwara-eliya district are not proportionate to the population. This shortcoming has been pointed out, call by civil activists and general public to increase the number often went unheeded.

  • In 2016, responding to adjournment debate proposed by Nuwara-eliya district parliamentarian Mylvaganam Thilakarajah, Minister of Local Governance Vajira Abeywardane had promised to increase the divisional secretariats of the Nuwara-eliya district from five to ten.
  • In 2018, meeting an all-party group of parliamentarians of the Nuwara-eliya district, District Secretary, Divisional Secretaries and others, the Minister Abeywardane reassured to newly establish five divisional secretariats and subsequently obtained a cabinet approval after submitting a cabinet paper, which also included provisions to newly form three divisional secretariats for Galle district (from which he was selected the parliament).
  • On the 29th of October 2019, a gazette notifications published, calling for establishing new divisional secretariats, five for Nuwara-eliya district and three for Galle.
  • On the 1st of March 2020, Nuwara-eliya district coordinating committee decided to declare open the new district secretariats.
  • In October 2021, three new divisional secretariats were formed after dividing Baddegama divisional secretariat in to two, thus creating a divisional secretariat for Vaduraba and also forming two divisional secretariats for Rathgama and Madampaagama. But, provisions in the Gazette notification on forming divisional secretariats for Ambagamuwa (Norwood), Nuwara-eliya (Talawakelle), Walapone (Ragala) Kotmale (Thispane) and Hangurangketha (Maturate) were not implemented.
  • In November 2021, former Parliamentarian and chief coordinator of the Malayaga Political Arena along with members directly met Mr.Nandana Galaboda, District Secretary of Nuwara Eliya, and submitted a signed request to implement the provisions on establishing new divisional secretariats.
  • In December 2021, only a ‘sub divisional secretariat’, instead of a full ‘divisional secretariat’ for Talawakelle has been established.

I, who place my signature below, declare that this decision is against;

  1. Authority of the high policy forming legislature,
  2. Collective decision of the cabinet, and
  3. A government gazette

The decision forces the people of the Nuwara-eliya to think that they are discriminately treated with a bias by the government.

I hereby call to respect noble notion of equality ensured by the constitution and firmly express my integrity to the efforts spearhead by the Malayaga Political Arena (MPA) in this regard.